Contact us: +61 8 8226 8800

Department for Communities and Social Inclusion

Governor's Multicultural Awards 2013 now open


The Governor's Multicultural Awards 2013 are now open for nominations of individuals and organisations that have made outstanding contributions to multiculturalism in South Australia.

The Governor's Multicultural Awards are awarded to individuals and organisations that promote multiculturalism and the benefits of cultural diversity in the community.

The award categories are:

  • Arts and Culture
  • Community Sector (individual and organisation)
  • Media (individual and organisation)
  • Private Sector
  • Public Sector
  • Volunteer
  • Youth (individual and organisation)
  • Outstanding Individual Achievement.

Nominations can be made online at

The awards have been running for six years and previous winners include the SANFL, Messenger news and local government.

The awards have recognised those involved in initiatives such as a 'welcome to Australia'program for newly arrived migrants, English language programs, support groups and the Riverland Multicultural Festival.

Individuals who have advocated for the welfare of refugees, shared their personal experiences for the benefit of others, improved understanding of other cultures and opposed discrimination have also been recognised.

Anyone can nominate an organisation or individual that demonstrates the values of a multicultural community, in one or more of the award categories.

Nominate someone today to recognise their individual or group contribution to promoting multiculturalism and the benefits of cultural diversity.

Award winners will be announced by the Governor of South Australia at an official award presentation at Government House in early 2014.

Nominations for the awards are open until Thursday 31 October 2013.

To nominate online or for more information visit

State Government of South Australia © Copyright DHS .

Provided by:
Department for Communities and Social Inclusion
Last Updated:
28 Oct 2016
Printed on:
27 Apr 2018
The DHS website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Australia Licence. © Copyright 2016