Contact us: +61 8 8226 8800

Department for Communities and Social Inclusion

Affordable Living

Food security project: Improving individual and household food security outcomes in South Australia

The South Australian Department for Communities and Social Inclusion (DCSI) and the Department for Health and Ageing (DHA) are currently undertaking a project in collaboration with partners in the charitable food relief and community sectors to co-design an optimal charitable food system to address food insecurity in South Australia and improve client outcomes.

The project will be shaped by extensive engagement with the charitable food relief and community sectors, clients of charitable food relief and academic experts in food security through a number of activities, including:

  • A food security literature review undertaken by academics from Curtin University and Flinders University (completed 2016);
  • A series of roundtable workshops with key funded partners (ongoing through 2017-18);
  • A survey of food relief providers (completed September 2017);
  • A research project to gain insight into the lived experience of food relief clients (October – November 2017); and
  • A publicly-released discussion paper (October-November 2017).

The discussion paper is now closed, and all responses received (provided below) will be consolidated and presented in a final report which will be available on the DCSI website by early 2018.

Anglicare SAMulticultural Youth SA
Beacon Emergency ReliefRebecca Lindberg, Deakin University
Centacare Catholic Country SAStable Help Inc
City of OnkaparingaThe Hut Community Centre
Community Centres SAUniting Care Wesley Bowden
Foodbank SAUniting Communities
MarionLIFEUniting Country SAUniting Country SA
Meals on Wheels SA 

For any queries about this project, please send an email to

Charter of Affordability

Keeping SA Affordable

The State Government asked the South Australian community to share their ideas and suggestions for ways to help make our state more affordable.

The Keeping SA Affordable Statement is a response to the issues raised during this consultation process. It brings together the services, supports and initiatives currently available or planned for the future to help households manage their cost of living pressures.

The statement is intended to be a helpful and practical tool for households and the community sector to identify the full extent of assistance available and direct them towards more information.

Charter of Affordability

An Affordable Place to Live is one of the Government of South Australia's Seven Strategic Priorities.

The Charter of Affordability is a partnership between government and key organisations that many people deal with on a regular basis.

Banks, energy companies, local government as well as state government organisations such as SA Water all impact on the household budget.

Through the Charter, each organisation has agreed to six guiding principles that ensure people in financial hardship are treated with respect and compassion, and can access information to help them make important decisions.

Each organisation has completed a fact sheet that provides information on financial assistance and a contact person.




ANZ Corporation

Good Shepherd Microfinance

Bank SA

Homestart Finance

Bendigo and Adelaide Bank Limited 

Housing SA

Berri Barmera Council

National Australia Bank

Campbelltown City Council

Origin Energy

City of Charles Sturt Council

People's Choice Credit Union

City of Burnside Council

Red Energy

City of Holdfast Bay Council

SA Water

City of Onkaparinga Council

South Australian Council of Social Service

City of Port Adelaide Enfield

South Australian State Schools Administrative Officer's Association

City of Prospect Council

The Salvation Army

Commonwealth Bank of Australia

Town of Walkerville

Credit Union SA

Uniting Communities

State Government of South Australia © Copyright DCSI .

Provided by:
Department for Communities and Social Inclusion
Last Updated:
28 Oct 2016
Printed on:
15 Dec 2017
The DCSI website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Australia Licence. © Copyright 2016